Little Hornets

       

Little Hornets Child Care Center
Located at Robinson School

245 East Street
Mansfield, MA 02048
508-261-7319
Hours of operation: 6:45 AM - 4:00 PM

Little Hornets Child Care Center is a laboratory school associated with the Child Development program at Mansfield High School.  We are located in a separate area within the Robinson Elementary School across the street from Mansfield High School.  

Little Hornets consists of four classrooms ranging in age from infants to preschoolers.  Little Hornets is a self-supporting lab school for the children of Mansfield Public School teachers.  Our mission is to provide high quality child care for our teachers and to provide meaningful learning experiences for Mansfield High School students; many of whom continue their educations and become future teachers, pediatricians, and nurses.  Our High School students leave our program with a solid foundation in early childhood education and have an advantage over other students entering child development programs who do not have such experiences in their school systems.

Courses offered at Mansfield High School:

Grades 10-12 Introduction to Child Development Theory
This course covers the four areas of child development and focuses on planning and implementing appropriate activities and interacting with children of all ages in a meaningful way to promote age appropriate skills in the four developmental areas.  The course also covers positive guidance teaching techniques, how to effectively read to children, and why an environment that promotes play is critical to children at the Prekindergarten level.

Grades 10-12 Child Development Practicum
This course allows Mansfield High School students the opportunity to work in a professional child care setting with a knowledgeable trained adult staff for one hour each day five days a week.  Many of our students elect double periods and multiple periods throughout the school year. (Prerequisite:  Successful completion of Child Development Theory)

 Contact Information

Director 
Missy Rapoza
Missy.Rapoza@mansfieldschools.com

Assistant Director
Sheley Boen
Sheley.Boen@mansfieldschools.com
Infant Classroom
Lead Teacher, Kellie Roe
Kellie.Roe@mansfieldschools.com 

Toddler Classroom
Lead Teacher, Cindi Murphy  
Cindi.Murphy@mansfieldschools.com 
Preschool Classroom
Lead Teacher, Meg Connors
Meg.Connors@mansfieldschools.com
Pre-K Classroom
Lead Teacher, Karen Heon
Karen.Heon@mansfieldschools.com

Lead Teacher, Carrie Dubie
Carrie.Dubie@mansfieldschools.com


                 

              

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.